top of page

Constructionis Psuche

The Construction of the Mind (Constructionis Psuche) an unreleased Lion Legacy project from D. Reeves

This title says it all! It is literally Latin for the "Constructions of The Mind" and it is my first ever classical CD project. I finished it approximately over 4-5 years ago. My music is fueled by my emotions and mental state when I play. I wrestled with releasing this project because I had just started composing seriously and expanding my piano skills.


The music is purely from an orchestral classical vibe and may not be for everyone. Since this project I have grown in my writing skills. It represents just what the title suggests, the restructuring of the mind to achieve what could not be achieved previously. From the cover to the musical theme it represents deep meditation and cogitation of the mind to explore and pursue new skills, new experiences and new manners in which to express the heart. Because music is about expression I decided to release this project if for no other reason than to see how I have grown when the next purely classical project is released.


After releasing Constructionis Psuche I began to evolve in my approach to classical music and composing it. I now call it "Urban Classical" or "Clazzical" music in that I use the typical orchestral instruments but also use those instruments that are common to Easy Listening or Quiet Storm Smooth Jazz such as the upright bass and the saxophone. It is a mixture of several nuances of music and at times quite eclectic and yet it still speaks to the soul. Constructionis represents a younger me with a more basic approach. The projects that are yet to come represent a more daring and calculated me that is trying to discover the bounds to which urban classical (clazzical) music can go. This is the first. I am hoping and believe that there are many more deep within the wells of my soul.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page